Overland Park Criminal Law Attorney | Olathe Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer | Shawnee

phone icon PHONE (913) 553-4222
phone icon FAX (913) 416-4346
divider

Blog

separator

How Strict the DUI Law Can Be in Kansas City

/ 0 Comments /

DUI or “Driving Under Influence” of impairing drugs and alcohol is a serious crime in every state of America. It’s considered as a grave charge & punished accordingly. After all, around 40% of entire traffic deaths in the US are reportedly due to alcohol or drug impaired drivers on the street.

According to DUI law, a person is “impaired” when his ability to drive a vehicle safely is affected due to the consumption of illicit drugs, prescription medications or alcohol. There is a set BAC (blood-alcohol concentration) limit which determines the stage of impairment and legal inability to drive while drunk. According to Kansas Drunk Driving Regulations, driving with 0.08% BAC & above is considered as a crime under the State’s DUI laws. The limits would be lower for commercial vehicle drivers & minors.

The penalty for 1st DUI conviction is 100-hours community service & a mandatory 72 hours in jail. Besides, the person charged would have to take part in a drug & alcohol evaluation program or drug-safety action education curriculum at his own expense. Moreover, he would be fined 500 to 1000 USD as well. The driving license would stay suspended for thirty days initially & restricted for around 330 days. Your vehicle might be impounded for up to 12 months as well.

A DUI charge is a serious charge and can take a toll on your insurance rates and job security. Thus, in such cases, it’s always better to have a seasoned DUI defense attorney to represent you.

separator

Overland Park Criminal Law Attorney | Olathe Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer | Shawnee

phone icon PHONE (913) 553-4222
phone icon FAX (913) 416-4346